Login NowClose 
Sign In to thecouriertimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Friday is 59th Achievement Day

Seventy-three students of New Castle High School will be honored for academic excellence during the 59th Annual Achievement Day Program on Friday. The convocation will begin at 1:45 p.m. in Bundy Auditorium. The featured speaker is Walter P. Chrysler Memorial High School alumnus and noted educator Dr. Cathy Hamilton, of Cathy Hamilton and Associates. Parents and grandparents of the honorees are cordially invited to attend the convocation and should be seated by 1:30 p.m.

Achievement Day was inaugurated by the Standards Committee of the faculty in 1961. The ceremony is intended to formally recognize the academic achievements of New Castle High School students and inspire academic success for the school year.

Seniors Benjamin Brock, Luke Bumbalough, Lily Garvin, Nicholas Grieser, Jalayna Hutson, Brook Keesling, Caleb Kundert, Grace Lewis, Carmela Lopezfilio, Sarah Maddy, Abigail Meek, Raminder Patial, Spencer Stewart, Cameron Tabor, Jared Weaver, and Ashley Wilkinson will each receive a commemorative ring, the New Castle High School honor crest, and a certificate for having accumulated at least a 4.0 (A) grade point average for six semesters.

Crests and certificates will be presented to 21 seniors who have earned a grade point average between 3.6667 to 3.9999 (A-) for six semesters. The recipients are: Mckayla Bouslog, Graci Bowers, Allison DeVier, Braiden Farlow, Mason Gillis, Anna Gillock, Katelyn Goodpaster, Donovan Greive, Bailey Guffey, Caitlin Hicks, Ashlyn Hurley, Melissa Main, Fallon Mastin, Corbin Pope, Emily Smith, Taylor Smith, Tyler Thompson, James Thompson, Oliver Tompkins, Emily Winkle, and Kelly Ziglar.

Certificates will be awarded to 36 juniors who have accumulated a minimum grade point average of 3.6667 for four semesters. Students receiving certificates are: Tanner Alsip, Lauren Ayers, McKenna Beaudry-Geeding, Grace Bertram, Hattie Broyles, Luke Carter, Zoe Conway, Connor Evans, Brady Firle, Nathan Garreth, Sarah Gerth, Andrew Glover, Abby Hamilton, Blake Hammond, Jonathon Hawrot, Benjamin Head, Allison Jones, Corbin Madden, Jackson Malott, Payton Marsh, Thailand McGuire, Austin Morgan, Andrew Nelson, Andrew Nipp, Tytus Ragle, Saige Reeves, Cooper Rusch, Emily Scott, Melani Shaffmaster, Emily Thurlow, Aidan Thurman, Lacia VanSlyke, Molly Welch, David Wilkinson, Darby Williams, and Cloie York. All awards will be presented by Principal Kirk Amman, Associate Principal Nick Middleton, Dean of Students Brad King, Achievement Day Coordinator James Thurston, and Superintendent Dr. Matt Shoemaker.

The New Castle High School Band, directed by Jonathon Edwards and Daniel Buckalew, will present selections from their 2018 marching show “Baseball” by Frank Sullivan. The New Castle Chorale will perform the school hymn and “This Is Me” from “The Greatest Showman” under the direction of Matt Hurst.

The annual relighting of the Spirit Bowl, donated by the class of 1962, will be presided over by Senior Class President Trevor Huffman, Student Government President Sarah Maddy, Senior Class Vice-President Bryce Miller, Senior Class Secretary Abigail Meek, and Senior Class Treasurer Braiden Farlow.

The keynote speaker, Dr. Cathy Hamilton, is a noted educational leader and currently manages the consulting firm of Cathy Hamilton and Associates.

Hamilton spent 19 of the first 20 years of her life in New Castle. She graduated 50 years ago in the top 10 of her class. She left New Castle in 1969 and returned in 2007. She returned having already been married for 35 years, a mother of two adult daughters and a wonderful son-in-law, had earned a doctoral degree in education leadership, had retired from public education, and had begun her own consultancy firm.

Hamilton started her educational journey at Wilbur Wright Elementary School in 1956 at age six, retiring from public school work in 2005, having taught in public schools and in colleges. Having served in administration, she started her own company, working with schools, small municipalities, businesses, psychologists, nurses, and the legal system on topics of leadership, mastery instruction, cultural diversity, bullying behaviors. And she became a community advocate.

Along the way, Hamilton was sometimes first: First Ball State student to become a national intern in political science; first female to be selected Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year (Mason, OH); first female high school principal in Middletown, OH, School District (there were only 10 female high school principals in all southwestern Ohio at the time); and she was the first Green Jacket winner to be kicked out of National Honor Society.

– Information provided