Login NowClose 
Sign In to thecouriertimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Trojans' Tabor named to 2019 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Star Team

New Castle High School senior Cameron Tabor is wearing a jersey representing her selection to the IndyStar Indiana Girls Basketball All-Star Team as announced Thursday afternoon. No numbers will be assigned until IndyStar Indiana Miss Basketball is announced May 5 in Indianapolis.


INDIANAPOLIS - Thirteen players have been selected for the 2019 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars announced Thursday afternoon.

One of those 13 girls was New Castle's Cameron Tabor, who is a two-time Courier-Times Area Player of the Year recipient, Muncie Star Player of the Year, and set a record for career points for a New Castle girls basketball player with 1,668.

Those chosen to the team will play three games in June -- one exhibition game against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.

The 2019 Indiana Girls All-Stars, listed alphabetically, are: Jorie Allen of Bedford North Lawrence, Shaila Beeler of Warren Central, Sydney Freeman of Central Noble, Carissa Garcia of Fort Wayne Concordia, Amaya Hamilton of Hamilton Southeastern, Rikki Harris of North Central, Lilly Hatton of North Harrison, Emma Nolan of Marquette Catholic, Maddie Nolan of Zionsville, Sophia Nolan of Marquette Catholic, Hannah Noveroske of Michigan City, Riley Ott of LaPorte and Cameron Tabor of New Castle.

The head coach for the 2019 Girls All-Stars will be Debbie Guckenberger of Brownsburg. She will be assisted by Mike McBride of Eastern (Pekin) and Chris Seibert of Crown Point.

The 2019 IndyStar Indiana Miss Basketball will be announced from within the group of All-Stars listed above at The Star's Indiana Sports Awards program on May 5 at Clowes Memorial Hall in Indianapolis.

The Junior-Senior exhibition game is set for June 5 at a site to be announced. The first game against Kentucky will be June 7 at Bellarmine University's Knights Hall in Lousville. The final game against Kentucky will be June 8 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

All three dates will be doubleheaders with the IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars.

The Indiana Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, also will play home-and-home doubleheaders against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars. Those games tentatively are set for June 1 at a Kentucky site to be announced and June 3 at an Indiana site to be announced.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976. The Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, were added in 1996.

The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar brand, is a title sponsor.

Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Mike Broughton after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each could recommend up to 10 players.

All 13 girls selected for the All-Star Team are NCAA Division I recruits. Tabor has signed with Davidson, Allen and Beeler with Indiana, Freeman with Ball State, Garcia with Northern Kentucky, Hamilton with Duquesne, Harris with Ohio State, Hatton with Wofford, Emma Nolan and Sophia Nolan with Saint John's, Maddie Nolan with Miami (Ohio), Noveroske with Xavier, and Ott with Purdue-Fort Wayne.