Login NowClose 
Sign In to thecouriertimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Trojans' Bumbalough named to IBCA/Subway Senior 'Supreme 15' Team

By DAVID RISLEY - drisley@thecouriertimes.com

INDIANAPOLIS – New Castle High School senior boys basketball player Luke Bumbalough received another high honor Thursday as he was named to the 2019 IBCA/Subway Senior All-State “Supreme 15 Team.

Bumbalough’s classmate, Cameron Tabor received the same honor on the girls side a few weeks ago, and is the highest honor bestowed by the IBCA for a basketball player’s performance on the court.

During the 2018-19 season, Bumbalough produced 31.2 ppg, 4.9 rpg, 3.3 apg, shot .488 from the field, .708 from the free throw line, and .421 from three-point territory.

Fifteen seniors, including Bumbalough, and 15 underclass boys basketball players have earned IBCA/Subway "Supreme 15" All-State honors for 2018-19.

For the fifth year, the IBCA also named Large School All-State teams (15 seniors, 15 underclass) and Small School All-State players (15 seniors, 15 underclass).

The "Supreme 15" is the top honor awarded, and players were voted to that group without regard to school size. The Large School and Small School all-state teams are secondary accolades - the Large School group including players from Class 3A and Class 4A schools and the Small School group including players from Class A and Class 2A schools. Players who make the Supreme 15 are not considered for Large School or Small School honors.

In addition, 88 more seniors and 88 more underclass players were selected Honorable Mention All-State. The Honorable Mention laurels are awarded without regard to school size.

Those voted to the 2019 IBCA/Subway Supreme 15 Senior boys' team are Cobie Barnes of Floyd Central, Jesse Bingham of Warren Central, Luke Bumbalough of New Castle, Sydney Curry of Fort Wayne Northrop, Frankie Davidson of Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian, Armaan Franklin of Cathedral, Alex Hemenway of Castle, Trayce Jackson-Davis of Center Grove, Colin Kenney of Marquette Catholic, Jake LaRavia of Lawrence Central, John Michael Mulloy of Carmel, Brandon Newman of Valparaiso, Isaiah Thompson of Zionsville and Dawand Jones and Jalen Windham of Ben Davis.

The IBCA/Subway All-State teams are selected through a process organized by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association and presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana.

All IBCA-member head coaches have the opportunity to nominate players. A panel of 20 IBCA coaches - 16 from the current regional areas, three district representatives (one each from IHSAA Districts 1, 2 and 3) and the committee chairman - then meets to review the nominations, vote and finalize the selections.

Subway Restaurants of Indiana once again is making a financial contribution to the IBCA Scholarship Fund as the presenting partner of the IBCA all-state teams. As part of the partnership, Subway will provide plaques to Supreme 15 honorees and certificates to players receiving Large School All-State, Small School All-State or Honorable Mention all-state recognition. Those items will be available to each recipient's coach at the annual IBCA Clinic in April, allowing his coach to present the award to each player.

The IBCA thanks Subway Restaurants for being a partner in this annual project.

The 2019 IBCA/Subway All-State Teams for girls basketball were announced on Feb. 27.

Those voted to the 2019 IBCA/Subway Supreme 15 Underclass boys' team are: Jalen Blackmon of Marion, Luke Brown of Blackford, Tre Coleman of Jeffersonville, Johnell Davis of Gary 21st Century, Caleb Furst of Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian, Trey Galloway of Culver Academy, Jaden Ivey of Mishawaka Marian, Trey Kaufman of Silver Creek, Khristian Lander of Evansville Reitz, Anthony Leal of Bloomington South, Kiyron Powell of Evansville Bosse, Keon Thompson of Merrillville, Charlie Yoder of Westview and Dre Davis and Nijel Pack of Lawrence Central.

No other local area players were named to one of the IBCA’s Senior All-State teams or Honorable Mention.

Given that, some senior players whose names are familiar with local fans were named to one of those teams. Brownsburg’s Cameron Alford, Culver Academy’s Ethan Brittain-Watts, Shelbyville’s Zach Kuhn, and Carmel’s Andrew Owens and Karsten Windlan were named to the 2019 Senior Large School All-State Team.

Among those named to the 2019 Senior Small School All-State team were Westview’s Elijah Hales, Lapel’s Luke Richardson, and Andrew Williams of Heritage Christian.

Delta’s Josh Bryan was listed as Honorable Mention among senior players, as was Aaron Etherington of Hamilton Southeastern, Lucas Kroft from Richmond, and Peyton Meadors from Mt. Vernon (Fortville).

Shenandoah sophomore Andrew Bennett, who led the Raiders in scoring at 13.3 ppg in their run to the Class 2A southern semi-state championship game, was named to the 2019 IBCA/Subway Underclass Small School All-State Team.

Joining Bennett on that squad are Carson Bennett of Lafayette Central Catholic, Brett Bosley of Paoli, Colton Brown of Covington, Austin Darnell of Washington Township, Lincoln Hale from Linton-Stockton, Curt Hopf from Forest Park, Noah Hupmann from Evansville Day, Elijah Malone of Prairie Heights, Champ McCorkle from Greenwood Christian, Foster Mefford of Southwestern (Hanover), Kegan O’Neill from Barr-Reeve, Josiah Ricketts of North Posey, Kyle Ross from Andrean, and Josh Smith from Monrovia.

Two Shenandoah sophomores also were placed on the Underclass Honorable Mention list. Those two Raider players were Jakeb Kinsey and Kaden McCollough. Also placed on that list were New Palestine’s Maximus Gizzi, Gus Etchison of Hamilton Heights, and Brady Hunt from Delta.

The Courier-Times will name its All-Area Teams, Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year in Wednesday’s edition of the newspaper. The final boys basketball statistics of the season were published in this past Friday’s edition of the paper.